The spring of even-numbered years is always marked by seemingly endless opportunities to vote. Hopefully, you are aware the runoff elections for the primaries are scheduled for May 22. Early voting is compressed for runoff elections and is underway through this Friday, May 18. Voter turnout is historically very low for these elections, making your vote that much more important. You may find your polling place through your respective county clerk’s website, and the Texas Secretary of State’s website has an abundance of information regarding this election.

The IBAT FedPAC and IBAT PAC have supported a number of these candidates based upon district polling in open seats, and there are several “friendly incumbents” (designated with an asterisk) in runoffs as well. Here’s a rundown of the candidates supported by our PACs (departing incumbent is in parentheses):

  • Congressional District 2 (Poe) – Kevin Roberts
  • Congressional District 6 (Barton) – Jake Ellzey
  • Congressional District 27 (Farenthold) – Bech Bruun
  • Texas House District 13 (Schubert) – Ben Leman
  • Texas House District 37 (Oliveira*) – Rene Oliveira
  • Texas House District 54 (Cosper*) – Scott Cosper
  • Texas House District 62 (Phillips) – Reggie Smith
  • Texas House District 109 (Giddings) – Carl Sherman
  • Texas House District 121 (Straus) – Steve Allison